Diversity trainings for employees and managers

Unconscious Bias

Unconscious Bias in an Organizational Context

Hardly anyone wants to consciously discriminate. And yet, women are more rarely found in management positions and people with a different skin color have more trouble finding a job. The root of this problem is often found in “unconscious biases”. Our unconscious assumptions result from falling back to prior experience when evaluating people or situations. We thus label people with certain characteristics rather quickly before we actually perceive them as individuals. This leads to a hasty decision with which we unintentionally discriminate someone or overlook the most promising solution.

In this training, you’ll learn how unconscious assumptions are created in the brain and you will become aware of your own biases. You will gain insights into the range of consequences that unconscious biases can have on the organizational success. Gather strategies to even more consciously avoid unconscious mistakes in your decision making process!

Because these processes take place unconsciously, we usually don’t notice treating people unequally or not seeing certain possible solutions. Becoming aware that our decisions are always also influenced by distortions of perception is an important step in dealing with them more consciously in the future.

However, studies show that it needs more in order to avoid this kind of unconscious preference or discrimination: To at least increase evading unconscious biases, it needs process interventions, also known as Inclusion Nudges. In this training you’ll learn about the most frequent biases in the work environment and get to know strategies against correlated mistakes in the decision-making process.

Content

  • What are unconscious biases? Backgrounds and examples
  • How are unconscious biases and distorted perceptions created?
  • Where is a conscious handling of unconscious bias in the organizational context required?
  • Recommendations for process interventions
scroll to top

Diversity-Trainings für Mitarbeiter*innen und Führungskräfte

Unconscious Bias

Unbewusste Vorannahmen im Unternehmenskontext

Kaum jemand will andere bewusst diskriminieren. Und trotzdem sind Frauen seltener Führungskräfte und Menschen anderer Herkunft haben häufiger Probleme einen Job zu finden. Die Ursache sind oftmals „Unconscious Bias“: Unsere „unbewussten Vorannahmen“ entstehen dadurch, dass wir in der Beurteilung von Menschen oder Situationen auf Erfahrungswissen zurückgreifen. Wir werfen also Menschen anhand bestimmter Merkmale rasch in eine „Schublade“, bevor wir sie tatsächlich als Einzelperson wahrgenommen haben. Das führt zu vorschnellen Entscheidungen, mit denen wir unabsichtlich jemanden diskriminieren oder die erfolgversprechendste Lösung übersehen.

In diesem Training lernen Sie, wie unbewussten Vorannahmen auch in Ihrem Hirn zustande kommen und machen sich Ihre eigenen Verzerrungen bewusst. Sie bekommen einen Einblick in die Bandbreite und Tragweite der Auswirkungen, die Unconscious Bias auf den Unternehmenserfolg haben können. Holen Sie sich Strategien, um unbewusste Fehlentscheidungen noch bewusster zu vermeiden.

Weil diese Prozesse eben unbewusst ablaufen, merken wir meist lange nicht, dass wir Personen ungleich behandeln oder bestimmte Lösungswege einfach nicht sehen. Das Bewusstmachen, dass unsere Entscheidungen immer auch Wahrnehmungsverzerrungen unterliegen, ist ein wichtiger erster Schritt, künftig aufmerksamer damit umzugehen.

Untersuchungen zeigen aber, dass es mehr braucht, um diese Art der unbewussten Bevorzugung oder Benachteiligung zu verhindern: Um zumindest die Wahrscheinlichkeit zu erhöhen, dass unbewusste Vorannahmen ausgehebelt werden, braucht es „Prozessinterventionen“, sogenannte „Inclusion Nudges“. In diesem Training lernen Sie die häufigsten Verzerrungen im Arbeitsumfeld kennen und Strategien gegen entsprechende Fehlentscheidungen.

Lerninhalte

  • Was ist „Unconscious Bias“? Hintergründe und Beispiele
  • Wie kommt es zu unbewussten Vorannahmen und verzerrten Wahrnehmungen?
  • Wo es einen bewussten Umgang mit Unconscious Bias im Unternehmenskontext besonders braucht
  • Empfehlungen für Prozessinterventionen
nach oben scrollen