Diversity trainings for employees and managers

Female Empowerment

Real Equality Instead of “Children vs. Career”

Austria is a land of tradition. This does not only concern customs but also the distribution of roles in family and work life: Almost every second female Austrian works in a part-time position. Nevertheless, Austria holds the 3rd place in the Eurostat statistics concerning the average working hours on a full-time basis. So, Austrian women are doing two thirds of unpaid work, like child-care or care for elderly or sick relatives. These numbers clearly indicate that there is no trace of real equality concerning job opportunities.

Many organizations wish for more femininity – in management positions as well as strategic thinking. Added to that are compulsory women quotas, which do not solve a fundamental problem: Despite quotas it is the women who adjust to the male dominated frameworks (such as great flexibility instead of time for the family, “masculine” behavior, etc.) that tend to be more successful in their career. So, what can you do to effectively empower women? In this training, you will learn how to promote real equal treatment in your organization instead of perpetuating old habits.

If you want to efficiently promote women, you’ll have to question prevailing career norms in your organization. Who is advancing in their careers? What are the (unspoken) criteria? How is the prevailing notion of career hindering women to apply for management positions?

Efficient empowerment of women also includes empowerment of men: Not only women, but also men are not drawn to top jobs with implied overtime. Active participation in their family lives is becoming more and more important, especially to the younger generation in men. Real equality requires alternative models, management in part-time positions, TopSharing and so on.

A few relevant facts:

47.5 percent of women in Austria worked in part-time jobs in 2018. On average, 31 percent of women work in part-time jobs all over Europe.

Aside from fewer promotion opportunities of part-time workers, this also includes a massive impact on wages. A survey conducted in 2019 shows that women in Austria, 10 years after the birth of their first child, earn 51 percent less than in the year before the birth and that their chances of promotion are decreasing. Most of the time, pay gaps at this point of their careers cannot be counterbalanced anymore.

Women in Austria earn a fifth less gross income than men. Concerning pensions, that amounts to a difference of 43 percent.

Only 4.8 percent of the executive board members of Austria's listed companies are female.

Content

  • Social norms as obstacles in equal treatment
  • Vision: gender-neutral frameworks
  • Recommended actions for gender-neutral recruitment, wage and promotion processes
  • Steps and ways towards effective advancement of women

scroll to top

Diversity-Trainings für Mitarbeiter*innen und Führungskräfte

Women Empowerment

Echte Chancengleichheit statt Kind oder Karriere.

Österreich ist ein Land mit Tradition. Nicht nur im Brauchtum, auch in der Aufteilung der Rollen in Partnerschaft und Erwerbsleben: Fast jede zweite Österreicherin arbeitet in Teilzeit. Trotzdem liegt Österreich bei den durchschnittlichen Wochenstunden auf Vollzeitbasis in der Eurostat-Statistik auf Platz 3. Zusammengefasst: Sie arbeitet in Teilzeit, er macht die Überstunden. Österreichs Frauen erledigen dafür zwei Drittel der unbezahlten Arbeit, also etwa Kinderbetreuung und Pflege. Von Chancengleichheit im Job keine Spur angesichts dieser Zahlen.

Viele Unternehmen wünschen sich mehr Weiblichkeit – in der Führungsriege als auch im strategischen Denken. Hinzu kommen etwa verpflichtende Frauenquoten, die jedoch ein Grundthema nicht lösen: Trotz Quote machen am ehesten diejenigen Frauen Karriere, die sich den männlich geprägten Rahmenbedingungen angepasst haben, sprich: große Flexibilität, keine Zeit für Familie, „maskuline“ Verhaltensmuster. Was also tun für wirkungsvolles Women Empowerment? Wie Sie in Ihrem Unternehmen echte Gleichberechtigung begünstigen können, erfahren Sie in diesem Training.

Wer Frauenförderung wirksam machen will, muss die im Unternehmen herrschenden Karriere-Normen hinterfragen. Wer macht Karriere? Was sind die (unausgesprochenen) Kriterien dafür? Wie hindert das vorherrschende Karriereverständnis Frauen daran, sich für Führungspositionen zu bewerben?

Wirksame Frauenförderung bedeutet auch Männerförderung: Denn nicht nur Frauen, auch immer mehr Männer finden einen Top-Job mit implizierten Überstunden unattraktiv. Aktive Teilhabe am Familienleben wird vor allem den jüngeren Männergenerationen immer wichtiger. Echte Gleichberechtigung braucht alternative Modelle, Führung in Teilzeit, Top Sharing und so weiter.

Noch einige relevante Fakten:

47,5 Prozent der Frauen in Österreich arbeiteten 2018 in Teilzeit. Europa­weit arbeiten im Schnitt 31 Prozent der Frauen in Teilzeit.

Neben geringeren Aufstiegschancen von Teilzeitkräften in Unternehmen wirkt sich dies auch massiv auf das Gehalt aus. Eine Studie aus dem Jahr 2019 zeigt, dass Frauen in Österreich zehn Jahre nach der Geburt des ersten Kindes durchschnittlich 51 Prozent weniger als im Jahr vor der Geburt verdienen und ihre Aufstiegschancen sinken. Gehaltsunterschiede in dieser Karrierephase können oft nicht mehr ausgeglichen werden.

Frauen verdienen in Österreich ein Fünftel weniger brutto als Männer. In der Pension ergibt das einen Unterschied von rund 43 Prozent.

Nur 4,8 Prozent der Vorstände von Österreichs börsennotierten Unternehmen sind weiblich.

Lerninhalte

  • Soziale Normen als Hürden der Gleichstellung
  • Vision: genderneutrale Rahmenbedingungen
  • Handlungsempfehlungen für genderneutrale Einstellungs-, Entlohnungs- & Beförderungsprozesse
  • Schritte und Wege zur effektiven Frauenförderung

nach oben scrollen